Monday, July 16, 2018

Pitchwars Mentor 2018

I'm a Pitchwars mentor for the fifth year! I'll be looking at submissions in the adult age category and that's all I can tell you. You can find my Pitchwars bio here. It does list my favorite books as a hint. But surprise, I have a giveaway!

A couple of like-minded mentors have joined me in giving away their books to celebrate our inclusion as mentors. All you have to do is leave a comment on what Pitchwars means to you below and use the rafflecopter to enter. Make sure you use the rafflecopter as the rafflecopter will choose the random winner.

One winner will take home all the books. US resident only. Enter between now and July 19, 2018.

There is one free option to enter, but follow us on twitter for additional bonus options. Thanks and we can't wait to see your submission in August!

Now onto the books we are giving away:



Grudging by Michelle Hauck


A lyrical tale of honor and magic, Grudging is the opening salvo of Michelle Hauck's the Book of Saints trilogy that combines the grace of Ellen Kushner's Swordpoint with the esprit de corps of Django Wexler's Shadow Campaign series.
A world of chivalry and witchcraft…
and the invaders who would destroy everything
The north has invaded, bringing a cruel religion and no mercy. The ciudades-estados who have stood in their way have been razed to nothing, and now the horde is before the gates of Colina Hermosa…demanding blood.
On a mission of desperation, a small group escapes the besieged city in search of the one thing that might stem the tide of Northerners: the witches of the southern swamps.
The Women of the Song.
But when tragedy strikes their negotiations, all that is left is a single untried knight and a witch who has never given voice to her power. And time is running out.




Planetside by Michael Mammy


A seasoned military officer uncovers a deadly conspiracy on a distant, war-torn planet…
War heroes aren't usually called out of semi-retirement and sent to the far reaches of the galaxy for a routine investigation. So when Colonel Carl Butler answers the call from an old and powerful friend, he knows it's something big—and he's not being told the whole story. A high councilor's son has gone MIA out of Cappa Base, the space station orbiting a battle-ravaged planet. The young lieutenant had been wounded and evacuated—but there's no record of him having ever arrived at hospital command.
The colonel quickly finds Cappa Base to be a labyrinth of dead ends and sabotage: the hospital commander stonewalls him, the Special Ops leader won't come off the planet, witnesses go missing, radar data disappears, and that’s before he encounters the alien enemy. Butler has no choice but to drop down onto a hostile planet—because someone is using the war zone as a cover. The answers are there—Butler just has to make it back alive…

Los Nefilim by Teresa Frohock

Collected together for the first time, T. Frohock’s three novellas--In Midnight’s SilenceWithout Light or Guide, and The Second Death--brings to life the world of Los Nefilim, Spanish Nephilim that possess the power to harness music and light in the supernatural war between the angels and daimons. In 1931, Los Nefilim’s existence is shaken by the preternatural forces commanding them … and a half-breed caught in-between.
Diago Alvarez, a singular being of daimonic and angelic descent, is pulled into the ranks of Los Nefilim in order to protect his newly-found son. As an angelic war brews in the numinous realms, and Spain marches closer to civil war, the destiny of two worlds hangs on Diago’s actions. Yet it is the combined fates of his lover, Miquel, and his young son, Rafael, that weighs most heavily on his soul.
Lyrical and magical, Los Nefilim explores whether moving towards the light is necessarily the right move, and what it means to live amongst the shadows.







The Perfect Assassin by K. A. Doore


A novice assassin is on the hunt for someone killing their own in K. A. Doore's The Perfect Assassin, a breakout high fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas, and Brent Weeks
The assassins of Ghadid serve a higher power, dispensing justice in the shadows. Or so Amastan has been taught.
Until, unexpectedly, Amastan finds the body of a very important drum chief. Until, impossibly, fellow assassins are being killed off. Until, inevitably, Amastan is ordered to solve these murders. Even worse, the jaan of the murdered start roaming the dusty streets of Ghadid, restless spirits seeking any body to possess.
Time is running short, and Amastan must find this perfect assassin or become their next target.
Amazon (Giveaway is an ARC)






The Exiled King by Sarah Remy

Avani and Mal’s journey comes to its gripping conclusion in this final installment of the Bone Magic series by Sarah Remy
The desert has outgrown its boundaries…
The warriors of the sands have united for the first time. They are newly privy to the secret sidhe roads beneath mountains, the ones that used to keep the flatlands safe. And they are marching toward Wilhaiim with weapons of steel.
Wilhaiim is out of options…
King Renault’s choice is untenable: watch the flatlands fall, or work with Malachi Doyle in a secret gambit to revive Wilhaiim’s ancient mechanized guardians, the Automata. The Automata have a terrible, bloodied history, but Mal believes they are his kingdom’s only hope of survival.
Mal wavers on the edge of insanity…
Avani lives with Mal in her head, an unwilling witness to his increasing madness. Her nights are filled with dreams of darkness and despair, her days troubled by guilt and uncertainty. Her beloved Goddess draws distant as Mal’s influence takes its toll. And as the bloodshed, brutality, and loss multiples, she and Mal will learn that determination is sometimes more potent than sorcery…and that the greatest sacrifices are often inescapable.



The Rogue Retrieval by Dan Koboldt

Sleight of hand... in another land.

Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he's about to make the big-time. What he doesn't expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real.
That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He's after an employee who has gone rogue, and that's the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians...and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out.
Scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval. Fans of Terry Brooks and Terry Pratchett will find this a thrilling read.




a Rafflecopter giveaway

13 comments:

  1. I entered Pitch Wars for the first time last year. Fantastic experience.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Pitchwars means that aspiring authors get help, hope, and support from experienced authors. It is a giving community that I enjoy reading about their successes.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know I have so much to learn, I look forward to the comraderie of writers even if I dont get picked.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Pitch Wars is a chance to meet other writers and a great opportunity to advance my writing career.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I met so many amazing other writers last year. I love having a group of like minded people that understand the insanity I put myself through.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Even if I don't get selected as a mentee, I have made so many connections in my short time using Twitter and, because of this, I've had the opportunity to see firsthand how other fellow writers tackle the craft.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Pitchers is such great opportunity! Best of luck to those who pitch!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm excited to learn and hone my writing skills with my mentor. Plus ALL the new connections to the writing community!

    ReplyDelete
  9. This will be my first time entering Pitch Wars. I'm so grateful to all the mentors offering their time and experience. Even if I'm not selected, I look forward to connecting with other writers and hopefully finding a new CP or two.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Thanks, wonderful mentors!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Pretty darn excited for my first pitch wars. What a great opportunity!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Excited to try pitch wars for the first time!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Anything that will help keep me motivated and inspired to keep writing is a good thing!

    ReplyDelete