Wednesday, May 6, 2015

Help Out a Writing Contest Veteran: THE UNFORTUNATE DECISIONS OF DAHLIA MOSS


I'm starting a new series of posts as we wait for Query Kombat time to arrive. They are called Help Out a Veteran, because all the authors will be veterans of one of my contests!

I think everyone who enters Query Kombat or any contest becomes part of the writing community, almost like a giant family. And we should support each other. Do what we can for each other. It's what families do! Thus this series.

If you have participated in one of my contests and have a book coming out or already published, please get in contact. I'd love to host you for one of these posts! You don't need a cover yet, or any links to Amazon. All you need is a Goodreads page for your upcoming book. 

The first victim is Max Wirestone, who was the NA Grand Champion from last year's Query Kombat


THE UNFORTUNATE DECISIONS OF DAHLIA MOSS







For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something.


The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she's not living her best life. But that's all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she's offered a job. A job that she's woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she's just the girl to deal with them.

October 20, 2015 from Redhook.


Now it's time for your part. Head over to Goodreads and add this to your want to read list. Follow Max on twitter. 

Support a contest veteran and writer like yourself! Someday it could be you in this spot.

----------------------------


Max Wirestone is a librarian in a small New Hampshire town.  His first book, the geek-themed mystery THE UNFORTUNATE DECISIONS OF DAHLIA MOSS will be published in hardcover  (and audio) in October.  He is a currently at work on his second Dahlia book, a fantasy inspired by IT'S A MAD MAD MAD MAD WORLD, a "parenting noir" novella, and a machine that will somehow create more hours in his day.

He can be found at @maxwires on twitter, or at maxwirestone.com

5 comments:

  1. This looks like a fun read, Max! Best of luck with the launch!

    Rebecca

    ReplyDelete
  2. My pleasure! Looks good :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am currently reading his delightful and hilarious book, and I super recommend it! It's geeky in just the right way, and I love it!

    ReplyDelete